FIREARMS & WEAPONS CHARGES

firearm and weapon

In Oklahoma, there are many different firearms related charges. Some of the most common charges involving a firearm include:

  • Unlawful Possession of Firearm
  • Transporting a Loaded Firearm
  • Possession of Firearm in Commission of Felony
  • Possession of Firearm After Felony/Former Conviction
  • Pointing a Firearm (sometimes called Felonious Pointing a Firearm)
  • Reckless Conduct with a Firearm

I will make sure your rights are protected from overzealous prosecutors and law enforcement. Let my experience guide you and inform you of the best way to proceed. I will fight to make sure that you are treated fairly in court and given a chance to tell your side of the story.

With the possibility of prison time, you need an experienced lawyer to stand by your side and fight for you.

Potential Punishments for Firearms & Weapons Charges

Unlawful Possession of Firearm can be a misdemeanor of a felony depending on the type of weapon and/or how it was being carried. The range of punishment for Unlawful Possession of Firearm is anywhere from a small fine up to prison time.

Transporting a Loaded Firearm is a misdemeanor in Oklahoma. The range of punishment for Transporting a Loaded Firearm is from 10 days up to 6 months in the county jail and/or a fine from $50 up to $500.

Possession of Firearm in Commission of Felony is a felony in Oklahoma. The range of punishment for Possession of Firearm in Commission of Felony is from 2 years up to 30 years in prison depending on the circumstances.

Possession of Firearm After Felony/Former Conviction is a felony in Oklahoma. The range of punishment for Possession of Firearm After Felony/Former Conviction is from 1 year up to 10 years in prison.

Pointing a Firearm can be a misdemeanor or a felony in Oklahoma depending on the circumstances.. The range of punishment for Pointing a Firearm is from 3 months in county jail up to 10 years in prison depending on the circumstances.

Reckless Conduct with a Firearm is a misdemeanor in Oklahoma. The range of punishment for Reckless Conduct with a Firearm is from 10 days up to 6 months in the county jail and/or a fine from $50 up to $500.

Theses are just a few of the firearms charges in Oklahoma and the range of punishment for many of these charges varies greatly depending on the circumstances. If you are charged with a firearms charge and want to know the range of punishment please call to make an appointment for a free consultation.

If you have prior felony convictions then your range of punishment can increase significantly from what is listed above. Call today to schedule a free consultation and I can better explain the range of punishment you may be facing and any defenses you may have.

Possible Defenses to Firearms & Weapons Charges

There are many different defenses when you are charged with a firearm charge. Did the police find the gun on you or was it just close to you? Did the police have the right to frisk you? Did the police have the right to search your car or home? These are just a few of the questions that I can help you answer. I will challenge the officer and make sure they did not violate any of your rights. Since firearms charges can cover many different fact scenarios the defenses that are available vary greatly depending on the specific facts and circumstances.

If you have been charged with any firearms charge call now to schedule a free consultation. I will work hard to find all or your possible defenses to try and get your charges reduced or even dismissed. If a trial is your best option I will passionately argue your case to the jury. If pleading guilty is your best option I will negotiate the best plea deal with the prosecutor.